Maui B&B Reviews

Testimonials for Maui Vacation Rentals

March 2018 – This was our first ‘off-beach’ stay on the island of Maui and wow are we sure happy we chose the Iao Valley Inn. The accommodations are pristine and the property and gardens will not disappoint. I spent hours just listening to the stream, watching for birds and taking photographs of the beautiful flowers and fruit trees. Thank you so much to our wonderful hosts at the Iao Valley Inn! Laura T.

March 2018 – We stayed at the Iao Valley Inn, during our first visit to Maui. Tamara is a gracious hostess, very helpful, but never intruding! Their home and property are a little piece of heaven! We very much enjoyed staying in the Palms Room. The Continental breakfast that was out each morning by 7:30, was very generous, and delightful! Access to the laundry and the kitchen is always available! We would happy recommend this location to family and friends and hope to return ourselves, someday! G.L. | Des Plaines, Illinois

February 2018 – We arrived late at night, after traveling for 24 hours – what a welcome. A clean, spacious cottage with welcoming light – we awoke to a tropical paradise with the relaxing sound of water and a delicious breakfast spread (complete with famous banana bread). We couldn’t have had a better experience.

The Iao Valley Inn is perfectly located to explore the island – easy to get to the different sides and a restful break from the tourist bustle of the rest of the island. Easy to come and go as you please it felt like our own little piece of eden.

The cottage has everything you need, and there is an umbrella, beach chairs, towels, cool box – everything you need for a lazy day (or two) on the beach. There was also a handy guide book which visitors pass one from one guest to the next – you can tell what’s popular. 🙂

Cannot recommend this enough. T. Q. | London

January 2018 – We went here in 2016 and it was so amazing! The owners were super nice and awesome hosts!!! The place is so beautiful! We will for sure be back one day!!!!. Robin Palomino

December 2017 – I stayed in the cottage which is located on the banks of Wailuku river and falls. It has a Lanai and private garden, Wi-Fi, and cable TV. Kitchen is fairly complete, micro wave, fridge, Keurig coffee maker, dishwasher and disposal. Walk-in shower is superb. Private, comfortable and lovely. Limited storage space, one large closet with shelves, no dresser or desk. It’s a cottage, not a luxury hotel suite! But preferable in my estimation. Finding the place is daunting— not complicated or far, just somewhat secluded. Arrival before dark is recommended. KDH | New York

November 2017 – We hadn’t been on a real vacation in so long. The cottage at Iao Valley Inn was perfect – very secluded yet so easy to venture out to all the special Maui places. The hostess and host were very friendly and respectful of our privacy. It was very rainy before and at times during our visit, so the Iao Stream was a big river, quite fascinating to see the waterfall and river in action. We certainly enjoyed our stay and will recommend it to our friends and family. Lorrie Council

October 2017 – My wife and I were on a belated honeymoon and wanted a place that was quiet and peaceful. The beach hotels just didn’t do it for us. We found the Iao Valley Inn and stayed for 4 days.

Tamara greeted us and welcomed us to their Inn. She gave us a good description of what was what on their property and the island. She and Fred were very hospitable and friendly and made themselves available if we needed anything.

The lanai was great for having breakfast, provided by Tamara. Fresh papaya with strawberries and some kinds of nut breads. Coffee and tea were also available. Previous guests left plenty of almost anything we needed as a sort of guest gift for others. Nothing was lacking.

At night we sat on the lanai, had a couple of drinks, listened to the creek and watched the stars. One night I saw green phosphorescent things scurrying up the trees by the creek. I couldn’t figure out what they were. It was like a sci-fi or acid trip (which I’ve never done). I asked Tamara what they were and she said….it was a laser light display dancing through the trees. I felt embarrassed but got a laugh out of it.

Up the canyon less than a mile is a Park that is worth visiting. The hike is easy and not that long.

Once we knew our way around the island, the location was a great choice. If you want the “old” feel of Maui, this location will give you that earlier time kind of feeling.

It was a great place to stay. ENJOY! Willie Kiote | Salt Lake City, UT

October 2017 – This cottage is located in a valley a short distance from the paved street with a beautiful view of mountains and a stream running nearby. It is the perfect size for a couple. The bed was very comfortable; the living area very adequate with flat screen TV. A bar for eating was available, but we preferred to eat on the lanai watching the sun rise over the mountain. The bathroom is larger than most hotels, especially the shower. A stacking washer and dryer were very handy for getting laundry done in preparation for flying to another island. Although we did not meet Tamara, Bob was very helpful at check-in and a great host. Maridan M. | Texas

July 2017 – We had a lovely week in Maui, enjoying the central location of the Iao Valley Inn. Our hosts were very helpful and hospitable. We borrowed their boogie boards, camping chairs and cooler for some awesome days at the beach. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable located at the foot of the West Maui Forest Reserve. The property is quite large with a nice grassy area and benches close to their impressive 20-foot waterfall. Very peaceful and private! And the breakfasts were delicious too! Sandra | Los Angeles, CA

February 2017 – We stayed here at the end of Dec for 9 days in the cottage. It was a perfect setting – stream next door, lanai for outdoor seating, a gazebo with an extra bed. We did not want to stay by the beach – the prices were ridiculous and most seemed very commercial. On the other hand, the cottage provided a very unique Hawaiian experience – which is what we were looking for! The cottage comes with coffee machine, basic kitchen utensils and supplies etc. so we ended up having breakfast in the cottage everyday. There is a grocery store very close by and several restaurants nearby, so it turned out to be very convenient. Prashant R

December 2016 – Beautiful Location! The Inn is a beautiful setting with very clean and comfortable rooms & delicious breakfast! It is so peaceful and relaxing and a great location to explore Maui from. When we were there the Iao Valley State Park had been closed for several months due to storm damage so if visiting the park is important to you I’d recommend you check before you book. S.C.

December 2016 – I’ve been going to Maui 2 or 3 times a year for almost 10 years now and have to say that this is now my favorite place to stay on the island. The plantation style cottage and rooms are beautiful, the property inspiring, and the owners practically feel like family now. And…if you stay in the rooms, the island style breakfasts are over the top! If you want quiet, authentic Hawaii with a lot of ohana and aloha, this is your place. Sean Schmidt

July 2016 – I go back here almost every year and never tire of it. The surroundings are absolutely beautiful and the owners are extremely helpful and accommodating. I would definitely recommend that anyone going to Maui visit their website and check it out before booking anywhere else. Mark Allen

March 2015 – The perfect place to stay on Maui – it’s paradise! Tanja Wörner

Oct-Nov 2014 – Dear Tamara & Bob, Thank you for the kind hospitality during our stay on this wonderful land. The scenic valleys & beaches are even more beautiful than we imagined. A pleasant surprise for us was how nice we were treated during our stay. Our only advice is to NEVER CHANGE! The way you run this place and treat your guests made us feel like family, which is more than any resort on the beach could have done. You have helped make a good experience a great one! Kind regards from St. Johns. Darren & Courtney | NL, Canada

Oct. 2014 – Bob and Tamara, Thank you for creating such a special getaway. The cottage is lovely and was the perfect place to create new Maui memories w/ family and friends. We so enjoyed exploring the property, the walk to the pond, and our time w/ both of you (and Mango). We are looking forward to seeing you again in April! All our best, Mahalo. Anna & Brian | Washington

October 2014 – It was wonderful, beautiful place & beautiful people! Thanks, Mahalo Nui. Judith | Florida

October 2014 – Tamara and Bob, We are so thankful to have experienced this little bit of Paradise. You made us feel like family. U hope to return some day. But if not I will always hold this experience – the peace, the beauty the calm in the breeze – in my heart. Blessings to you guys. Shalom and Jason | CA

October 2014 – Dear Tamara and Bob, Thank you for your warm hospitality and delicious breakfast treats. We enjoyed every minute and wish we were here another week! Tony and Natasha | California

September 2014 – Dear Tamara and Bob, What can we say that hasnʻt been said many times over in this book…wow! Your home/Inn is beautiful with a Zen-like quality. So relaxing & peaceful that I wish I could wake up every morning & experience this slice of paradise that youʻre lucky to call home! You both are gracious hosts to open your home & share this with those of us lucky enough to discover it. Thank you for your hospitality & taking such good care of us! Iʻll miss my morning papaya! Iʻm only sorry Mango & I didnʻt have more time to become friends! Love, Cara & Tom | California

September 2014 – Thank you for sharing you beautiful Inn with us. This place is so peaceful and beautiful. Going to sleep to the sounds of the frogs and waterfall was amazing peaceful. The breakfast was great. I loved the fresh fruit and will definitely miss it. Thank you for your hospitality. We hope to bring our family back some day. Aloha. Ryan and Mandy | Texas

September 2014 – Dear Tamara & Bob, Thank you for sharing your beautiful home! You made us feel right at home, we absolutely loved our stay, and when we get back to Maui, we hope to return! Thank you also for the wonderful breakfasts & suggestions for us “first timers”. Until next time. Dave & Mary Ann | Washington

September 2014 – Dear Tamara & Bob, Thank you so much for your hospitality. My husband & I really enjoyed our stay & your company. Iao Valley Inn is just beautiful & I am so greatful that you & Bob shared it with us. I look forward to our return visit. Mahalo. Laura | Texas

September 2014 – Dear Tamara & Bob, Thanks for your hospitality. We wish we could take this room home with us. You have created a truly spetacular oasis. Thanks. Dave & Susan

September 2014 – Tamara and Bob, Your B&B and farm are now a treasured part of our memories of our first, (but not the last) visit to Maui. Thank you for opening your wonderful part of the Iao Valley for others to enjoy. It is simply gorgeous, relaxing and special! Everything was top-notch and we look forward to another visit soon. Jim & David | Ohio

August 2014 – Bob & Tamara, I think I can honestly say this visit to Maui has been one of the best trips my family and I have taken, and mostly because of your amazing hospitality and the beautiful cottage & gazebo. Such a lovely place to come home to every day. Thank you for opening your little piece of heaven to us. We will definitely be talking to our friends and family about staying with you, and will be back ourselves-after Rio! Mahalo. Pam & Duff | California

August 2014 – Perfect place for a quiet getaway from hectic Honolulu. A will tell my colleagues. Judy | Hawaii

August 2014 – Dear Tamara and Bob, Thank you for your wonderful hospitality and sharing the warmth of your home from the first day we arrived and everyday since. We really enjoyed the idyllic scenery and great breakfasts, especially the papayaʻs! We will miss this place and chatting with you both. Take care and hope to keep in touch. Mahalo. Mark & Irena | California

August 2014 – Hi Bob & Tamara! I love your guest house! Basically everything on the property, including the cute little geckos. Iʻm really going to miss the sound of the water outside my window. Mango too! Heʻs so sweet. Anyway, I really enjoyed my stay here, maybe Iʻll come back for my honeymoon or something!!! Chenoa | California

August 2014 – Mahalo for a local style welcome. We appreciate your welcome of our ohana. Aloha. Suzanne | Texas

July 2014 – We can only add our voices to the chorus of reviewers who rave about the following: (1) the lovely hospitality of Tamara and Bob (2) the great breakfasts, with scones as good as my grandmotherʻs (3) the location and setting. Thanks so much for all you help, Tamara. We would definitely recommend this spot! Rory & Lee | Vancouver

June 2014 – Although seasoned travelers, my husband and I have never experienced a place like this. It felt much more like a home that a “bed and breakfast” which in our experience is a hotel room that includes breakfast. In fact, this is your home and we feel like honored guests. And what a beautiful home with soothing sounds of birds and waterfalls and beautiful views from our bedroom doors and windows. We are so grateful for the experience. This place has exceeded our expectations! And what a delight to find out you are good friends with my aunt and uncle who live here on Maui. All our best. Elaine & Jeff | California

April 2014 – Aloha! Bob and Tamara are wonderful people! We definitely left as friends after our stay. The atmosphere and hospitality was amazing. Tamaraʻs banana bread is absolutely delicious too! They were very accomodating to our needs. My boyfriend and I love the stay, visit, and room here in their home! We hope to see you again, Bob & Tamara! Nancy & Matt | New Jersey

March 2014 – Wow, what an amazing and beautiful place to stay! The rush of the waterfall on our first day with the symphony of birds was a wonder ful way to start our first trip to Maui. This has been the perfect home base for exploring and enjoying the many treasures of Maui! Thank you so much for providing such a warm and inviting place to stay! We loved it, and will be back again. Wendy & Dennis | Oregon

February 2014 – Bob & Tamara, Your Iao Cottage has left its mark on our hearts. From the overall aesthetics of the interior design choices, so ʻisland cozy,” to fresh tropical flower arrangements & just about the best banana bread Iʻve ever tasted; We will not soon forget this lovely hideaway. Mahalo for your kindness & general concern for our comfort. You are great hosts. Aloha. Haven & Will | Montana

Jan/Feb 2014 – Bob and Tamara, to experience Maui in such splendor and comfort was such a treat! We canʻt express enough how wonderful it was to find you and your Shangri-La of a residence. The sights, sounds, access and relaxation you provided truly made our trip memorable! Thank you so much for really being a key part in one of our best experiences yet! Douglas & Janelle | Minnesota

December 2013 – Dear Tamara & Bob (Max & Mango), The biggest thank you to you both for having us! Your hospitality was very warm, personal, and welcoming. The place is beautiful and peaceful; the rooms clean and comfortable (that bed!!!). The fool so delicious! We were really swept away, and will definitely be recommending this place to others. Well done! Thank you and be well. Ryan & Jessie | California

December 2013 – Dear Tamara and Bob, Thank you so much for a perfect week we enjoyed in your Iao Valley Inn. Itʻs like paradise here. We just loved everything especially your hospitality and all the good ideas your gave for places to visit and see. We could even use Bobʻs computer to load down/up pictures, wash our clothes…which are things that are not usual. Thanks for the nice chats we had, it was the best place weʻve found on our long, long journey. What an awesome finish of a great holiday. Tahe care and remember, Austria is also a nice place to go to. Youʻll be very welcomed, always and whenever you plan to go to Europe. Doris & Anton | Austria

November 2013 – Tamara and Bob, Thank you very much for sharing your paradise spot with us. We were very comfortable and enjoyed meeting and talking to you both. The torrential rains and flash flood events were new to our Maui experience. The falls are beautiful and peaceful when no raging. The raging water was adventurous and gave us a great sense of Mother Natureʻs beauty and power. Love the smell of your awesome basil plants, your hospitality was grand, including the welcome watchful eye of Mango. In addition, it was fun to find we have a common person in our lives. Very cool. Until the next time, Mahalo! We enjoyed our stay here very much. Go Ducks!! Tammy & Catherine | Oregon

October 2013 – Mahalo Tamara and Bob for the magical and unforgettable trip to Maui. We really appreciated your hospitality in giving us a beautiful tour of the farm and Iao Stream, Sheepy and Bow, and for the incredible fresh papaya, passionfruit and brewed coffee all from the grounds. Best of luck in your business pursuits and thank you again for giving us such a unique and local-inspired experience of island life. You made retirement look good. We never felt so at home and well taken care of on our special adventure.
Leslie and Darren | California

October 2013 – It began 48 hours before it started…A ferry through the Aleutians, a drive up to the Kenai Peninsula and two flights later we collapsed on the day bed. We immediately felt the sense of relaxation we had been seeking. Leif and I were Tamaraʻs & Bobʻs fifth guests. We had an unforgettable time in Maui and most especially at the Inn! Leif proposed to me at the foot of the bed…we will never forget the time we spent here. Alysha & Leif

September 2013 – We had a fabulous time staying 3 nights at the beautiful and quaint Iao Valley Inn. From the sounds of the birds singing every morning to the delightful conversation and smiles offered by Tamara, this special sanctuary in the valley offers a peace and beauty unlike any other in Maui. We will definitely be back! Thank you! Angelic & Megan | Washington

More Reviews for Iao Valley Inn